Marino Marini Museum, in the heart
of the historical center of Florence,
between via della Vigna Nuova and
piazza Santa Maria Novella, is housed
in the ancient church of S. Pancrazio,
founded before 1000, deconsacrated
in 1809 and used for several activities
for down one century. The museum was
inaugurated in 1988 after the extensive
restoration work directed by the architects
Bruno Sacchi and Lorenzo Papi.
Each floor of the museum contains a different
genre of Marino Marini's art, which has
been organized by theme in order to reflect
the artist’s state of mind as he
progressed through his career. The space
is designed to enable visitors to view
each piece for countlessly distict points
of view, with varying angles and heights
supporting the intentions of the artist.
contains 180 works by Marino Marini (1901-1980)
given by the sculptor and his wife Marina
at different times of his life. The collection
includes sculptures, drawings and etchings.
Pieces are arranged by subject rather than
by chronological order. The aim is to use
themes as modes rather than focus on iconographical
subjects. The core of the exhibition is
the imposing equestrian group from The Hague
(1957-58) placed in the centre of the old
liturgical space and immersed in the light
of the large apse.